ETAC

First off, I want to thank all of you still reading my blog and especially those who have commented lately.  I forgot how much I like sharing my experiences with you all and how much I LOVE getting comments.  So thank you.

On another note,  last Saturday I attended ETAC (Education of Textile Arts) and had the equivalent of a crafty religious experience.  I have to say that I didn’t know what to expect and when I got there I was a little underwhelmed by what I saw.  I was expecting something along the lines of Stitches West or The International Quilt Festival, but was surprised to find it in a medium sized DoubleTree Hotel (the one that serves the hella good chocolate chip cookies) with some ackwardly arranged classrooms.  However, for what it lacked in flair it made up for in actual educational content.

I attended  Lorraine Henry’s “The ABC’s of Pattern Alterations” first.  What a series of epiphanies!! The class was a 3 hours hands-on workshop where you made alterations for common fit problems using half scale paper patterns.  First, she told us about the proper order of making alterations, then she exposed us to the usual alteration methods and revealed the issues associated with them.  Then, we used the seam method of pattern alterations and it just seemed to click for me. Hallelujah!! I felt like I finally understood and was not intimidated by my necessary alterations.  I felt empowered.  So empowered that I bought the quite expensive second addition of Fitting and Pattern Alteration: A Multi-Method Approach to the Art of Style Selection, Fitting, and Alteration (2nd Edition).

I was lucky enough to find a used copy via Amazon for much less that retail but it was still quite pricey.  Don’t get me wrong, had I not found it used I would have bought it new but I was fortunate to find a deal.

The second class was another of Lorraine’s classes, “The Pants Puzzle Solutions!”.  This was yet another class that enlightened me.  In this class she compared a McCall’s, Butterick, and Burda pants pattern and revealed quite astonishing differences  in the construction of the patterns.  She even compared them to a men’s tailored pant which showed how much less attention to detail is put into a women’s pants pattern verus a men’s.  BTW, Burda seemed to win out in her pants comparison and her body type so it makes me even more eager to try a Burda pants pattern.  She also showed us a great way of outlining our shape using a 40″ curved ruler to compare against pants patterns. Here is mine in all its irregular glory.

I kinda fudged mine as I only has a 20″ flexicurve instead of a 40″ and lord knows I needed the 40″.  But this gives you an idea of what the outcome looks like.  Seems I have a bit of a pooch and a droppy booty…LOL 🙂  Ah well, nothing like denying the obvious self discovery. The best part is that my new book has an alteration for that 😀

I had planned to add another Lorraine class on Sunday, “Fit! measure Like a Master”, but I was trapped by the endless traffic circle created by the Long Beach Marathon maze and spent 30 minutes going in a circles.  Errr….more signs Long Beach!

Anyhoo, next year I plan to get the unlimited class pass because I felt like I could have learned so much more.  The class cost was reasonable and the teachers, Lorraine in particular, were awesome.  One key point made by another of my classmates, who I think was either my age of a few years younger, was how few young people were in attendance.  My count topped out at 4 which was not much in relation to the number of attendees.  It was a shame and I hope to help remedy that next year by spreading the word early amongst my crafty peers…hint hint 😉

 

6 thoughts on “ETAC

  1. Sounds fascinating! I can’t wait to see what you do with your new inspiration–you know I’ll come back for whatever you are making! 😉

  2. Hi- Glad you had such a great time at ETAC. Heard (thru sewing grapevine) that Lorraine Henry’s class was great. Can’t wait to hear about what you learned and see your new book. Bring it to class (Tailoring) next time you come.

  3. OMG, thank you for this post, I went to one of Lorraine’s classes at the American Sewing Expo on seam fitting and it was great. Then I wanted to get the book and couldn’t find it–and then there’s your post–with the book–yeah! I couldn’t find the book because it looks like it wasn’t written by her! (I didn’t write down the title at the ASE).
    The ages were definitely skewed at the ASE as well. I also wondered why that was!

  4. Hi! I attended a full day pattern alteration class with Lorraine during the Novi expo last month. I completely agree with you — enlightening! The idea of doing alterations inside the stitching line — lightening bolt!

    I enjoy reading your blog. Thanks for writing.

Leave a Reply

