Crochet Double Takes

Right before I left the last time, I showed you a shot of my crocheted greenway blanket.  Here it is again…not much further along than before

IMHO, this little amount of crochet progress is hardly worthy of a blog post by itself.  However, I was looking through a catalog the other day and spotted my blanket!

The imposter is on the right and the greenway blanket is on the left.  Ok, it is not exactly MY blanket but my blanket’s doppelganger!  The one at Garnet hill is 50×70 and costs $198.00.  Based on the work I have put in so far I think that is far too low a price 🙂  But the Garnet Hill website will be a great place to send people when they ask me if I will make them one! LOL!

I also think I will make the wider boarder on my blankie.

While there I also spotted this crocheted hexagon blanket for $398

Now that pricing is more like it!  Thank goodness I can crochet 🙂

10 thoughts on “Crochet Double Takes

  1. Even only partly done, it’s lovely. You are great at picking out colors. Did you use a pattern, or did you figure out the stitch and make it yourself? I don’t have the patience for crocheting afghans in rows! It takes forever . That hexagonal one, though, might be right up my alley. I am just finishing my third Babette Blanket (http://www.purlbee.com/babette-blanket-2/) which doesn’t really require any color matching ability (thank heavens for me, because I suck at it). It’s helping me get rid of all my sock yarn skeinettes!

  2. Your blog posts are always so entertaining. I especially like that you have a place to send people when they request you make them a blanket. HILARIOUS! Folks are forever asking “us” creatives to make, sew, hem, etc. something. It’s worse when you know good and dang on well they can sew or do whatever they are asking you to do for them. I wish you were my neighbor–we would have such fun!

  3. I just barley started crocheting and this post is SO inspiring me to continue. I love both the blanket you are working on AND the hexagon one. Just lovely.

  4. I love your blanket.

    I recently made a blanket like your hexagon, out of the leftover bits of my grandma’s yarn stash. It is gorgeous, happy and makes me smile every time I see it.

  5. LOL, I suppose this means it is perfectly fine to go to Garnett Hill’s website and copy a project from theirs. So sorry ladies I detest liars, cheaters, and people that steel. Ask and I will give you my last penny. But don’t do garbage like that to a designer. I am so sorry she did that to you. But on another note. I love, love, love the hexagons she has used in her afghan but that isn’t her design, noway! That is an old hexagon pattern that has been around for awhile.

Leave a Reply

