The Perfect Find

Today I ventured to Downtown LA to pick up some knit fabric.  After loading up with 12.5 LBS of fabric for $2.00/lbs at the Michael Levine Annex, I headed over to the main store to browse.  While there I stumbled upon the PERFECT fabric!

Have you ever seen a fabric and have your heart skip a beat?  Then you clutch the fabric close to your bosom and look around ready to snarl at anyone who dares challenge your find?  Then you hold it out to take another look to make sure it as perfect as you thought and then do a little happy dance in the head because it absolutely IS!

Well, that was me with this knit fabric.

I MUST find the perfect pattern for this print.   I have 4.5 yards to play with.  I want it to be kinda boho, long to play up the print, and maybe a creative butterfly sleeve treatment.  Does anyone have any suggestions on patterns? I am leaning to BWOF since it just seems to fit me without unnecessary fiddling but I am open.

Thanks,

The hoarder

24 thoughts on “The Perfect Find

  1. I immediately thought of a maxi dress for that fabric. Also a boho wrap skirt would be awesome too. Anything will look fab with that fabric though – it’s gorgeous – great find!

  2. Lovely fabric! Michael Levine Loft, fabric by the pound. I enjoyed my trip there this past winter…. 🙂

    I’m not certain about a sewing pattern, but I would consider getting a yard of jersey in a solid color from the peacock print. I’m leaning towards either the yellow, purple (I think I see purple) or magenta. If you have two pieces of fabric, there is more room to play with the sewing pattern: you can use the solid color as a accents at the collar, waist, sleeve bands, and the peacock print for the main pattern pieces (bodice, skirt, etc). For example, look at the HP Cosmopolitan dress with the main pieces in peacock and the the waistband, ties and color in a solid color.

    I look forward to see what you do.

    Rose in SV

  3. Okay, I was thinking about this fabric over the weekend and I have more suggestions. LOL!

    McCalls 5974 or 5752 (both are Palmer Pletsch–I’ve never made their designs, so I can’t vouch for them), with the accent color (one of the blue-greens from the fabric (turquoise or jade)) for the ties/waist accent. In any case, I can’t wait to see what you make.

    Rose in SV <–who you might say is somewhat OCD about fabric….

  4. I have no specific suggestions on a pattern but whatever you make it going to be gorgeous. A maxi sounds good, but the butterfly bodice sounds wonderful. That is a beautiful piece of fabric…so peacock!

  5. This is a gorgeous print with so many beautiful colors.

    I found your blog through Sigrids post on Burda/your flicker albums.
    You have put a lot of work into it and WOW your albums are very impressive 🙂

  6. Thank you so much for the information on the fabric I’ve been searching for.
    I didn’t know it was part of the Martinique Collection.
    Unfortunately Joann’s does not ship to Canada 😦 and we don’t have Joann stores here.
    You were very fortunate to buy some of the other fabric, I will look forward to seeing what you make.

    Have a great day.

    Ann

  7. Your knit fabric is beautiful !

    I found you by way of Sigrid’s post re: your Burda flickr albums and wanted to say Thank you, thank you, thank you !!!

    I’ll be back to check out your blog – lunch break is just about over LOL 🙂

  8. I want to thank you personally too for your Flickr album, it really is exactly what I would like to see at the Burda site itself. I do realize it must have taken quite a bit of work and time to make this and it’s such a helpful resource, available for all of us. THANK YOU.

  9. You are funny but I know exactly how you felt when you found this fabric. I agree totally, if I had been there we might have had a tugging war – JK.

Leave a Reply

