Thread Count

Inspired by all the talk of thread over on Sew Mama Sew, I decided it was high time for me to catalog my thread.

This is something I have been wanting to do for a while because I am a stickler for thread color matching for projects,  I hate purchasing duplicate thread colors when it can be avoided, and would like to take advantage of the 50% off thread sales that happen at JoAnn’s now and again without the fear of coming home to find 3 spools of 2900 Maroon already waiting for me.

So I printed out the Coats and Clark Master Color Chart and the Color Conversion Chart, since their numbering scheme changed, and proceeded to adhere snippets of the thread colors I have to the master color chart.

I then slipped in into plastic sleeves that I can write on with a dry erase or wet erase marker to keep track of what colors I need and if I have duplicates somewhere.  I can also bring to JoAnn’s when the 50% sale happens, just in case I want to restock or expand my thread collection.

In other sewing news, I have quite a few almost finished projects.  My kingdom for a hemmer and someone else to do it for me 🙂

I also decided that I am not very good with creating wardrobes in the RTW or the DIY world but I think I might be able to pull off Themes…LOL!!! Hmmm…what should I call this theme?  Maybe I should call it the Manimal Collection because there sure are a lot of animal prints going on in there :grin:!

10 thoughts on “Thread Count

  1. Oh my goodness! How inspirational! My thread right now consists of sparks of color in between lots and lots of brown. Wonder what that says about me? I bet this project was lots of colorful fun.

    PS Love the sign!

  2. Um, WOW! Your thread organization is amazing. Then again, I shouldn’t be surprised. If I remember correctly, you also did an impressive job with patterns too.

    Looking forward to your WOmanimal collection 🙂

  3. A very good ideal. I have to try it. I am always in the position of not being able to start a project because I don’t have thread the right color. I am in that predictament right now!

  4. Hi Monique,
    I’m a fan of your blog, evenmore of your flickr archive of BWOF.
    unfortunately I not able anymore to search them. Have you removed/deleted them?
    love from the Netherlands

  5. I definitely need to organize my thread. As you mentioned I have come home with more of the same colors already in my collection. ugh.., Love the fabrics shown and the name is appropriate.

    Thanks,
    C

  6. Or the Savanna Collection. It’s my patterns that need organizing but I am not one for it, so I live with the chaos. I was in Ikea some months ago and saw one of those chest of drawers with the opaque plastic fronts and said to my dd, I need one of those for my patterns. She replied, “where are you going to put it?” I asked, “what do you mean by where? In my sewing room of course.” She, “mom, there is no space left on the floor to put anything, that’s what I mean by ‘where’ ” !!! LOL…reality check, so they stay stuffed in all the crevices.

  7. DETROIT (Reuters) — December is expected to be the third true month that U.S. auto sales involve vulnerable 12 million vehicles on an annualized heart, capping a year of inchmeal recovery pro the auto sector, analysts said.

    While December by oneself cannot foresee 2011 deportment, a greatest date-book abode of sales at this reckon suggests the rally could drop-kick into higher gear.

    “That’s a great route from the 16 million and 17 million sales rates that we veteran for the better region of this decade. But we’re coming minus of 2010 on an upswing and I characterize as this bodes artistically in the service of 2011,” said Ford Motor Co. sales analyst George Pipas.

    Automakers are charges to circulate December U.S. auto sales on Tuesday, Jan. 4.

    A tenor to optimism middle industry experts is the flood in retail sales, typically more beneficial than enlargement quick sales to companies and rental auto agencies.

    Swift and rental sales are expected to garner up 19 percent of December sales, below-stairs the typically of 20.4 percent after that month, according to data from TrueCar.com.

    more – Advanced auto parts

Leave a Reply

