Old Lady Update presents…Weaving!

Woven Noro Silk Garden Scarf

  • Yarn:
    • Warp – Noro Silk garden (1 ball)
    • Weft – Noro Silk garden (little less than 1 ball)
  • Length: about 72″ (not counting fringe)
  • Width: 5″
  • Loom: 16″ Ashford Rigid Heddle Knitter’s Loom
  • Dents Per Inch: 7.5

So after my hectic week of travel, work, and team training, I finished the week off with an all day weaving class at the new and wonderful Yarn Lady.

IMG_6999_filtered

The class started at 9:30am although the other three students were already there and setting up. I on the other hand had no loom of my own so I was the lucky recipient of the teacher’s attention as an example for the class and received a lot of personalized assistance due to my need to finish the scarf by the end of class.

IMG_6992_filtered

Despite all the help it still took me every available minute of the class to finish my scarf. Phew!

Woven Noro Silk Garden Scarf

Our teacher was one of the best I have ever had and she infused the class with a wonderful energy of excitement and creativity. I loved her samples that she brought in and the enthusiasm she had in creating yarn pairing throughout the class to keep us thinking.

Woven Noro Silk Garden Scarf

The new store was wonderfully decorated in a more contemporary fiber arts direction which definitely appealed to me.  Their selection has also improved greatly.  It has been a long time since I have wanted to buy yarn but this store struck a cord with me.  Resistance may be futile!

Woven Noro Silk Garden Scarf

Through all of this I came away with a new fiber love. I haven’t been this excited about a new hobby since I learned how to knit. I fought the urge to buy a loom but kept checking patterns and sites for potential deals. It was obviously kismet because I found a great deal on eBay for the loom and stand. It came on Tuesday, oct 26 th but it took me until Saturday to summon up the time and courage to get it warped.  The warping had some issues because I picked the wrong dent reed which kept catching the slubs on one of my warping yarns.  After I finally got going, with only 24″ left, one of my warp strings broke and I cannot wrap my head around fixing it.  Guess I will have to wait for this Fridays social weaving to get some info from the ladies.  Until then I leave you with a picture of my first warping.

My First Warping

Talk to you soon!

27 thoughts on “Old Lady Update presents…Weaving!

  1. Once you get a loom, more are attracted – just a little warning. I have four so far, only two that I’ve used much.
    This confirms that I have to go back to weaving.

  2. You are too funny. I remember you saying that you wanted to learn to weave when we went to the the Purl Warehouse together years ago, and here you are doing it. The scarf is GORGEOUS. This totally makes me want to learn how to weave too!

  3. Those Noro colors look great! Please report back on the scratch factor (I’ve only knit with Kureyon, and hear Silk Garden is a lot softer) as it’s so close to the skin! Great job!

  4. Your scarf is beautiful. I am looking forward to seeing your WIP completed. I have a loom that is brand new, still in the box (and has been for XX years). You have excited and encouraged me to give mine a whirl. Thanks!

  5. Hi! I just found your blog via Craftster. I ♥ it!! You’ve even got me thinking I should also buy a loom and weave! Something I had never even remotely been interested in.

    You gave me a wonderful idea I had never thought of. The one about making a 3 panel mirrror (like in store dressing rooms).

    You just seem like a very person and for that I am going to add you on my list of blogs. Too bad typepad doesn’t have a ‘followers’ list. You’d be there if I could add you. 🙂

  6. Gorgeous! I love the colors, too. One of these days I’m going to have to take up weaving. I have way too much stash and not enough time. Weaving sounds fun!

  7. Love the weaving! I haven’t tried that yet, but would love too. Here’s another OL craft for you to try, quilting! You would do great at it with your color sense and mad sewing skills.

Leave a Reply

