Finished Object: Clapotis

IMG_5730_filtered-1

Yarn: Knit Picks Shadow in Amber Heather (yarn held double)
Inspiration: The Infamous Clapotis
Needles: Size 6 needles
Yardage: 4 hanks (approx. 1760 yards)
Modifications: Added about 4 more straight section repeats, added fringe
Enjoyment Factor:
8
Knit Time: 4.5 months!!!  That is an all time slowest..LOL!

IMG_5610_filtered

The Good:

  • This is my second Clapotis ever.  The first one was a bust because the yarn was just wrong Wrong WRONG!  I don’t even know if I blogged about it.  This one is perfect!  The yarns is a great color, super soft and warm.  I also like that the yarn is a little sticky from the fibers so the stole holds in place when you are wearing it.

IMG_5646_filtered

  • The yarn was part of a yarn swap that we did last year.  I was so happy to get it.  I then found out it was my buddy Skylar’s yarn from the year before so it is nice to know it “stayed in the family” and brings good yarn karma

IMG_5740_filtered

  • It came out to be a very nice size.  The goal was to use all the yarn and I almost made it.  I could have done two more repeats probably but ultimately the left over was minimal enough for me to…hold your breath…throw it away! 😯

IMG_5758_filtered

  • I love the fringe!  I made the same fringe as on my Lady Eleanor because I like it so much.  It also weighs the edges and helps keep the scarf in place.  Plus I like the swish swish swish of it all.

The Bad:

  • The fringe took hours.  I knew it would be long but DANG!  It took even longer than the one on my Lady E because I used 4 strand of yarn 40″ long, the twisted them a bit as I tied them.  Afterward I blocked them to set the twist.  Good thing I like fringe 🙂

The Ugly:

  • How long it took to make.  4.5 months people!! That use to be a lifetime for me but now it is just par for the course.  Too much to do, too little time.
  • I hope you were not expecting much here.  I mean there are at least 11,738 finished Clapotis in the world and counting…how much ugly could there be?!
20 thoughts on “Finished Object: Clapotis

  1. it turned out beautifully! the color is vibrant and the fringe is the PERFECT finishing.
    I always thought clapotis missed something. Now ther it is: FRINGES!

    ^-^

  2. Love it! The addition of the fringe really jazzes this pattern up. We have all seen a million Clapotis, but with the fringe it’s something new again.

  3. Everything is gorgeous, you, the scarf, the pics everything! Again Bloglines didn’t update anything, I don’t know why. Sigh at least I’m glad I thought to come check this out. It may inspire me to do my own Clap.

Leave a Reply

