Recipe: Pumpkin Swirl Brownies

Chocolate Pumpkin Brownies

Emotional Outcome: 😀

My Thoughts:

When I saw these brownies on Smitten Kitchen, I of course thought they were gorgeous, but wasn’t that taken with them. The reason I finally resolved to make them was that I had a can of packed pumpkin in my cabinet that just needed to be used. See I am not that much of a pumpkin lover (now sweet potato is a whole other story) so it has been in there for lets just say a while so I resolved to make these in an effort to rid my cabinet of this can once and for all.

The making was easy and was made even easier by deb’s advice. I really enjoyed them out of the pan, when they were warm as the pumpkin scent made the flavor more intense. But as they cooled, the chocolate really took over and the pumpkin got a little overwhelmed.

I also need to check out my flour. After reading about the different gluten in flours in Cookwise, I am curious as to how much lighter these could have been with a different flours. As they were, they seemed a little dry for me. Probably due more to operator error than the recipe itself.

Chocolate Pumpkin Brownies

After they cooled i packed them off to my office, where most sweets on this blog will eventually go, and they were gobbled up within 30 minutes. There were no complaints, just lost of “mmmmm…..”

The Recipe

Can be found over at Smitten Kitchen: Pumpkin Swirl Brownies

Leave a Reply

