Recipe: Drunken Noodles

Emotional Outcome: 🙂

My Thoughts:

This is my first post to Emotional Eats with a recipe. I am still getting the hang of this food blogging because it takes quite a bit of preparation and photography skills that I have not yet mastered. I love the photography at Smitten Kitchen and hope to one day be at that level, however, for now bare with me and know that I have good intentions on bringing you the mouth watering appeal that you get from other sources.

This recipe was simple and to the point. Nothing really to fuss with. The reason for me trying this out was because I had ground chicken at home. I have cook ground turkey, pork, and beef but never with ground chicken. I thought it had less appeal that all the other ground meats. I think I like my chicken in solid form. However, for a 20 minute or less dish, this one was pretty good.

Adaptations:

Many – used regular rice noodles instead of wide rice noodles, serranos instead of red thai chiles, hoisin instead of oyster sauce, left our sugar

The Recipe:

Drunken Noodles

8 oz uncooked wide rice noodles

1/4 lb. fresh green beans, trimmed and cut into 1″ pcs

1 Tbs. sesame oil

2 garlic cloves, chopped

2 red Thai Chiles, minced

1 lb. ground chicken

1/3 cup oyster sauce

3 Tbs. rice vinegar

1 1/2 Tbs sugar

1 large tomato, cut into wedges

1/4 cup thinly sliced basil

1. Cook Noodles and green beans in boiling water 4 minutes or until tender but still firm; drain.

2. While noodles and beans cook, heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add garlic and chiles; saute 30 seconds. Add chicken, and cook 5 minutes or until chicken is done, stirring to crumble

3. Add cooked noodles and beans, oyster sauce, and remaining ingredients to skillet, stirring gently to combine.

The Facts:

Recipe Source: Weight Watchers 20 Minute Recipes

Yields: 6 servings (serving size: 1 1/3 cup)

Calories: 306

Fat: 10.7

Fiber: 1.7

Weight Watchers Pts: 7

Leave a Reply

