Finished Object: Short and Sassy Pleated Handbag

Pattern: Short and Sassy Pleated Handbag by Artsy-Crafty Babe

Fabric Used: Linen-look fabric for handles and top panels, Joel Dewberry Ironwork in Eggplant on outside, Brown canvas fabric inside

Notions Used: 1 brass magnetic snap, Pellon 70 heavy weight interfacing, Pellon non-woven medium weight interfacing.

Pattern Alterations: None

The Good:

  • I got to be one of the first to try out this cute little purse project because she granted me the privilege of being a pattern tester 🙂 I love pattern testing!
  • This purse worked up so quickly. If you need an instantly cute purse, this is it!
  • I liked the use of medium interfacing on the outside bottom panels which really made the pleats crisp and stay in place.
  • I really like the size of the bag and the handle length in particular. I know that is simple to adjust but it is nice when you don’t have to second guess the length. This one fit perfectly over my arm and on my shoulder which is where I like it.
  • If you don’t want to make one yourself you can buy this style or other equally cute styles at artsy crafy bade’s etsy store.

The Bad:

  • Due to the interfacing of the lining fabric, the slip stitching of the lining on the bottom caused a ridge to form on the inside of the bag because there is no real way to press that flat again. Next time I would try trimming the interfacing in that area to flatten it out.

  • The weight of the interfacing can cause wrinkling on the top bands when you close it. It is probably a case of just needing to break in the interfacing a little more. When they bag is open they completely disappear. Then again do I ever close these types of bags? Nope!

The Ugly:

  • I got nothin’! this bag went together so easily that there was wasn’t time to mess up 🙂 This is definitely a great pattern for beginners with the benefit of instant gratification. Even the top stitching was a cinch which one should note I have NEVER said before. I think top stitching can make or break a bag so when it comes out well, that is a compliment to the designer and design.
21 thoughts on “Finished Object: Short and Sassy Pleated Handbag

Leave a Reply

