What I Did On My Summer Vacation…

So July 4th has come and gone, but here is the fruit of my latest obsessive compulsive fit of organization. I decided to archive all my issues of Burda into Flickr so that I could easily reference any pattern via my own personalized tags. Since I am officially a BURDA groupie and plan on having many, many more magazines, I decided that I needed someway to quickly find a particular style, sizing, or season of a pattern. I did try the tags system via the site and it was way too cumbersome. So three weeks and way too many hours later…VOILA!!

My very own BURDA reference site! 🙂

I basically made pictures via Flickr toys mosaic maker that has both the magazine picture and the line art. Then I tagged them with tags relevant to me and now have an easily searchable site for my patterns 🙂 This system is not for the faint of heart though because each magazine upload from start to finish was about 30+ minutes 😯

So now that I have this wonderful system to, all I have to do is get by butt back to sewing 😕

16 thoughts on “What I Did On My Summer Vacation…

  1. I’ve been doing the same thing with iPhoto but I’m sure it takes me much longer than 30 minutes each. Somehow, we ought to be able to pool our efforts.

  2. I have spent the last few weeks doing the exact same thing – cataloging my Burda magazines. Only I did mine in Microsoft Office One Note on my computer. I got it free with my new computer. I didn’t copy the photos though, just the line drawings. I was in a hurry. ;). Isn’t it great to have it all in one spot now. I find what I want so much quicker. And I get to compare styles from past issues so that I don’t get that deja vu feeling all the time. Job well done!!

  3. Wonderful job. Either great minds think alike…or addicts are predictable because, like you and apparently many others here, I’ve compiled my Burda line drawings in a binder. And I was thinking of putting the scans online!

Leave a Reply

