Finished Object: Lolita Apron

Pattern: Lola (and Lolita) Apron by Sew Liberated

Pattern Description: This mother-daughter apron duo will bring a flirty, retro flair to your kitschy kitchen. Inspired by a handmade vintage find, the Lola is a sure-fire way to get you cooking up a storm in style. The Lola’s customizable fit assures a flattering apron for all sizes and body types. Make one for yourself, your daughter and grandma too!

Pattern Sizing: Lolita Size Small for my 3 year old niece

Fabric Used: Purple Butterfly print from JoAnn’s

Notions Used: rickrack, 1/4″ bias tape

Pattern Alterations: None, at least not intentionally 🙂

The Good:

  • It’s so CUTE!! The pockets remind me of lollipops! I can’t say that I am much of a rickrack person but I definitely loved it for this apron because of the vintage look and the fact that it was for my niece.
  • There was quite a bit of topstitching involved in this apron and I recently bought an adjustable blind hem foot that really helped with controlling the topstitching.

The Bad:

  • None really, I did have some ‘hope for the best moments’ when sewing the rickrack and bias tape on the curves which proved difficult to make pretty, especially on the ties. I would suggest ironing in the curve for the bias tape and rickrack to make the sewing a little easier.

  • I would also use a more contrasting rickrack and main color bias tape next time as I thought my choices blended a bit too much.

The Ugly:

  • This is nothing at all to do with the pattern but I was making this during my wardrobe contest so I didn’t get to enjoy the making of this pattern as much as I should have. Guess that just means I have to make another 🙂

15 thoughts on “Finished Object: Lolita Apron

  1. That is adorable. I think your color choices are perfect. And I like the way the circulalr pockets echo the circles in the print. You do such great work! Brava.

Leave a Reply

