Ahhh!!! I am on Fire!!!

2183717361_7abe87c28c_m.jpg

For project Spectrum that is!

Just when I had given up on participating in Project Spectrum for the Fire Theme (FEBRUARY / MARCH – orange, red, pink) , up pops my inspiration all around me.

McCall’s 5478 Jacket

Remember this?

img_5200.jpg

Ok…I do understand that one mention of a W.I.P does not constitute a truly memorable moment on your part, but this thing has been a part of my life for over 10 months now. Yes, 10!! It is not because I am a bad seamstress or that I put this away in some dusty corner, but rather it is because this is a Tailored Jacket (also known as hand stitching hell). In a 3 hour class on a good day, I might sew on the machine for 5 – 10 minutes and the rest is some hand stitching exercise. Don’t get me wrong, this jacket is the bomb and I will love it when it is finally done. In fact, my love reached new heights ever since I put in the sleeves last week which brought this from a shapeless mass to actually resembling a jacket…go figure.

I will give you some more pictures in a few days.

Red Tech

img_5210.jpg

My other contributions to the fire theme are my new ipod and cell phone. As much as I would like to say that Project Spectrum was my inspiration for these purchases, it was not. Instead my inspiration was the desire to save money because my old technology conked out on me. Let me explain…

The reason for my new ipod purchase was the full hydro immersion testing I conducted a few weeks ago also known as I forgot my nano was in my pocket and only found it after a full 35 minute wash cycle. The sad part was that I kept pressing the button for a full day before resigning myself to the fact that ipods are not water proof. Cheapest option for replacement was a refurbished red Ipod.

My new phone was also a result of technology once again failing me, this time however it was not my fault. My old phone finally just refused to charge anymore. Within 3 hours a full charge it would beep incessantly and die within 30 minutes of the warning. Cheapest option for replacement was a refurbished red phone.

Either way it was fortuitous that project spectrum would fall on my door step with only two more days to go. Guess it was just meant to be 🙂


8 thoughts on “Ahhh!!! I am on Fire!!!

  1. I love all the red projects/objects. I’ve never participated in Project Spectrum but always am impressed with how everyone expresses their sense of color in their projects. My old phone also wouldn’t charge any more and it was really too old to try to get another battery for it so we upgraded as well.Personally, I think it’s planned obsolescence.

  2. Mmm, I love red! I’m so impressed with your sticktoitiveness (that’s my dad’s word, and a good one for times like this!). Can’t wait to see the final product.

  3. Awesome fabric! Looking forward to seeing the finished coat–good luck and happy sewing!

    P.S. I did a quick search and the shelves are made by Umbro. Would love to see your pics!

  4. I loved the butterfly noro cardigan I want to make it too but cant find the pattern anywhere? Remember where you got it from?

Leave a Reply

