Finished Object – Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

img_2841.jpg

Drum roll please…..dododododododoo

May I present to you the debut of the Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag ala Peacock Chic! If this was an Academy Award speech I would be thanking Montessori by Hand for letting me test sew her wonderful pattern which she has for sale on Etsy, Alexander Henry for making the wonderful flora fabric called Mocca, B. Black & Sons for the gorgeous brown wool, and M.L. Fabrics for selling both at a discounted price. A few tears would have fallen during my speech and I would be driven off the stage by the “wrap it up” music and impending commercial break.

However, this is real life so let’s get to the review. This was sewn in 2007, but the blogging was postponed so that it coincided with Meg’s release of the pattern. Please note that my review on this one will be a little bias because (1) I had a chance to comment on all the little nuances I would have changed, but since this was such a well written pattern it mostly consisted of improving on an already good thing, and (2) I really did love making this bag so I want everyone else to enjoy it too 😛

The Good:

2124289415_e72bf46467.jpg
  • Meg really paid a lot of attention to the little details and I think it paid off. I love, love, love the little patch on the flap. I don’t know why but that really makes me giggle when I see it. I also really like the topstitching on the handle and the top flap which gave the bag an expensive and professional look.

2125063044_6709b4b6c3.jpg
  • The instructions for the inside pocket were very well written. I had never done a zipper pocket in a purse before and her instruction were as clear as a bell to me. I even refer back to them when I make other purses with this feature.
  • This is a bag that is made for real world use. It is rugged and throughly interfaced so even the thinner cottons fabrics I used will stand the test of time.

The Bad:

  • The wool used for this pattern was not cheap. At $15.00 a yard, and that was at a discount store, I balked a little at the price. But after seeing the finished product, I wouldn’t have had it any other way. You could also do this up in a corduroy or heavier weight fabric, but I would almost suggest doing it in wool at least once because it came out yummy.

2124290347_1443dbc2fb.jpg
  • Pay attention to the topstitching. This is really a design element that just makes you ooh and aww at the end so break out that 1/4 foot or seam guide or whatever, but get those lines straight. I had more of a problem with measuring correctly which resulted in me having more lines of topstitching on my handle than the pattern called for. I just ended up doing the math and making sure the lines were spaced evenly.

2125063558_f9f67cc7bc.jpg
  • There is lots of ironing of interfacing. This is a totally necessary evil that I think makes this bag better than most, but still a pain in the butt. I did like the fact that she used iron-on interfacing instead of sew-in because there is less chance of anything shifting and no time consuming machine basting. Ok, let’s just face it…I am lazy 🙂
  • The strap on this bag is pretty long if you are 5’2 or below. I gave it to a friend, who is 5’1, for Christmas and she said she preferred it to cross her body than just hang from the shoulder due to her height. But then again this IS a messenger bag and that IS how they wear them so this is just a note for anyone of truly petite stature.

The Ugly:

  • That I didn’t get to keep it for myself because I love the fabric combination 😦 . Such is the crafting life…one day you make it, the next you are giving it away. Yeah, I could make another one in the same colors and everything, but right now I am into the “one of a kind” crafting phase. Besides, what is art or craft without someone outside of the artist who can love and appreciate the work? And I know my bestest friend loved it!

Next up…The Emmeline Apron Pattern review!

32 thoughts on “Finished Object – Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

  1. I love love LOVE my beautiful, hip and cool bag! It makes me feel like the luckiest girl in the world every time I use it…
    Especially since it’s handmade from one of the most talented chica’s I know AND because it’s named after a gnome (I love gnomes!)

    Many many thanks!
    You’re the best BFF EVER!
    ;0)

  2. You are amazing. Really. I have to ask – how difficult was this bag to make, compared to the Amy Butler weekender bag? I have dreams of making a great bag but fear my sewing skills aren’t quite up to par just yet.

  3. Hi M!!,
    What a beautiful Messenger bag!!! I am jealous that you got to be a tester 😦 You did a GREAT job!! I am patiently waiting for my emmeline pattern to be mailed out on Friday since I preordered it!! I can’t wait for your review. I am still looking forward to shopping one day 🙂

  4. Great bag, Mo. I agree with the topstitching making it look so very special. Good fabric choices, too ( I have used that floral for an amy butler bag….) Have you seen the preview for the new AB fabrics?

  5. Super duper cute Monique! I don’t know how you find the time to make all the things you do! Would this bag be an okay project for a semi-beginning sewer like myself? I’ve done some tote bags but they are pretty simple.

  6. Gorgeous! I love the bright print against the chocolate brown. The fabrics go perfectly together.

    I have this pattern ‘on the list’. Still a fairly new sewer so holding off for a bit, but I’ll have one eventually.

  7. Pingback: Knitter in the Kitchen » Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

  8. Thanks so much for sharing the good, bad, and ugly. I love when fellow crafters post lots of photos of their projects. It is so helpful to look at them all before starting my own version of the project. Your bag turned out beautifully!!!! I can’t wait to make one!

  9. I have been searching for a messenger bag pattern and found this one. Absolutely perfect! I ordered my pattern and have been fabric shopping 🙂 Just waiting on the mail to get it to me. I love how fabulous yours turned out!

  10. love the bag! i was thinking of buying this pattern but was undecided so i did a search to see who else has made it and what they thought. I LOVE your bag and will be buying the pattern. the wool is great too – what a fantastic idea.

Leave a Reply

