Cleaning House (a.k.a. FO Parade)

I am usually not the kind of blogger to lump my FO’s into one post. Mainly because I love giving each of them their five minutes of fame, but also because I love the personalized comments…hee hee.

However, sewing has led me to produce so many FO’s that blogging them all individually would be either way too cumbersome or rather anticlimactic due to their simplicity. So here are some items, most of which I finished in the great crafting explosion of 2007, that will have to share their moment in the limelight.

Ginkgo Coasters

img_3278-1.jpgimg_3276-1.jpg

These were some coasters that I made as a Christmas present for a friend. I used some Ginkgo ribbon for one side and then backed it with Amy Butler Poppy Fields Fabric leftovers.

First Serged Pillow

img_3863-1.jpg

I made this pillow in my serger class. The reason this is so memorable is that I learned to thread my machine! This seems to be the stumbling block for serger users so I jumped in with two feet and cut my threads so that I could thread it again in class. I think half the ladies in the class gasped, turned white and started saying prayers for me. In the end, it was pretty straight forward and I am SOOO glad I did it so as to dispel that taboo once and for all.

The Loop Scarf

img_3716-1.jpg

This sewn scarf was given to a friend for Christmas. I love the colors and the Japanese floral fabric has a wonderful texture to boot! I got the pattern from the Gifts to Make issue of Sew Stylish. The entire project took about 1 hour to complete and it produces such a lovely and sophisticated scarf when worn. Gotta love that.

Pretty Bias Tape Tote

Martha Stewart Bias Tote

Martha Stewart Bias Tote

This bag was another Christmas present for a friend. It is the Pretty Bias Tape Tote from Martha Stewart Magazine. It was a pretty simple pattern that I made a few modifications to:

  • added interfaced and lined to all the pieces including the straps
  • added a magnetic closure
  • didn’t stitch through the top pocket

Other than that it was pretty darn straight forward.

So that is my FO parade.  I think it covers all the items that were collecting cobwebs in the Flickr or pictures queue. Now on to bigger and better things 🙂

20 thoughts on “Cleaning House (a.k.a. FO Parade)

  1. I am sooooo jealous. You are way too talented. It seems like everything you make is just perfect. I love the pillow and the bag and everything. You must follow through on your plans.

  2. I LUUUURRRVVVVEEEEE the pillow!! Oh my goodness!
    The colors are just PERFECT (for me!) Haha! :o) Well glad you learned something new in that particular class! ;op

    I agree about wanting to give each F.O. their 5 minutes of shine! lol

    Can’t wait to see your bigger and better b/c I know it will be and it is on the way!

  3. Bigger? Better??? How??? I can’t wait to find out! (I love them all, but I’m particularly enamored with the scarf. Great fabric combo, and it looks like it would drape ever-so elegantly around one’s neck).

  4. I’m a sucker for anything with a ginkgo on it. The pillow is just stunning. And I just wanted to give you props for being able to thread the serger – I worked in a quilt shop for a few years, and that was always the thing no one wanted to do. At one point my boss made me and another employee sit down with two sergers to thread them, and we had no idea what the heck was going on – it was threading madness! To this day I’m still don’t quite trust sergers completely… 🙂

  5. Wow, your sewing is terrific! I love all your FOs. I still don’t have time to work on my non-existent sewing skills at the moment, but hopefully this year I’ll be able to break out the sewing machine–your projects are totally inspiring!

  6. Seriously, lady, I am in awe of you sewing abilities! Where do you find the time?! It all looks wonderful, and I particularly like the bias tape bag. I’m going to need to find that issue . . .

  7. Good job on the first Serger FO! I have watched my video – but haven’t touched it yet! I think I will try tomorrow 🙂 I see a pair of lounge pants for the son in his future….

  8. You will be my sewing mentor. Like it or not…I need to email you with some questions. No sewing class next Monday, but I am itching to get started on my apron, so I am going to start.

    Now, time for the dumbass question of the day…

    Serger vs sewing machine?

  9. You have amazing taste in fabrics and your projects look so well done and professional. I know not what an FO means, but it sure does look good. 🙂

    People like you have inspired me to join a sewing class. I am having tremendous fun learning.

  10. Your sewing is just as good as your knitting! You make such great things! I don’t know how in the world you find time, but I’m glad you share your creations with us!!!

  11. Just wanted to say all of your creations are breath taking and wonderfully crafted. I can’t wait to see what 2008 will bring from such a crafty Sistah. Oh, I love your new Blog very stylish.

  12. I have to ask – where did you get the ginkgo ribbon? My MIL had a ginkgo tree in her yarn as a child and she likes to collect things with the leaf design. I would love to copy your idea and make these coasters for her!

Leave a Reply

