Roller Coaster Riding

Good GRIEF!!! I can’t tell you how up and down these past couple days have been. I won’t go into detail but suffice it to say it included some tears, some moments of depression, some misplaced anger and a bottle of $5.00 hooch. Just a bunch of problems that came together to produce the Perfect Storm of emotion. You can use you own imagination to fill in the blank. However, throught it all, I just keep repeating to myself my new found quote:

If we all threw our problems in a pile and saw everyone else’s, we’d grab ours back.
— Regina Brett, syndicated columnist

It is so true!! When I step back and look at my problems, including the ones I have been having this week, I would definitely pull mine back out. The only problem is that sometimes it can take a while to remember to step back. So anyhoo, back to the crafting, because that IS what you are here for…

Drumroll please !!! Yes my friends…today we have KNITTING!!!

Here are my Anemoi Mittens that I temporarily abandoned during Christmas crafting season. These too went through their fair share of roller coaster knitting. On the left you can see the first mitten I started. It had the purple as the main color and the green as the accent color. After knitting to the point you see above, I decided I did not like how muddled the design looked with my color choices. So I decided to reverse them and use the green as the main color. Ahhhh….so much better. You can really see the design a lot more.

I am still trying to figure out the actual lesson I learned so that the next two color knitting project is not just trial and error. Could it be that the dark color should always be the design? Brain is having a hard time processing info right now so if you know the answer don’t hesitate to shout it out in the comments. Mine is not doing to good after a glass or two of the hooch 🙂

Since this picture was taken, I have almost finished the left mitten and ripped out the one on the right. Oy Vay was that a MESS!!

So alright, enough with this post!! I have a Smart Ones Chocolate cake, popcorn, the last Resident Evil movie, and my glass of hooch calling me. Nothing like a little wallowing to end one day only to start the next with a fresh attitude.

Wish me luck!
8 thoughts on “Roller Coaster Riding

  1. The second mitten does look really nice. Can’t wait to see the finished product! Lately, for color work patterns, I’ve been creating sample charts in Excel with color combinations I’m considering. It doesn’t have quite the variety of shades I’d like, but it’s been pretty helpful for getting an idea of how a piece would look.

  2. This too shall past. Just hold on tight to those knitting needles. You are so fortunate to have them to see you through. A little prayer while you’re knitting wouldn’t hurt either.
    Be Blessed.

  3. I agree with the comment above me. I think in this case it is about color intensity (don’t know if that is an official color word, but it works). What a great experiment, when I look at the RH mitten all I see is Purple!, but the LH mitten shows off the design.
    Popcorn cures all ills, it’s Friday, and I hope things go great for you this weekend.

  4. Again, while both mittens are lovely, I think the left looks more “right.” Hope you are doing ok. You know, you’ve got a friend in me if you need to chat, over the phone, in person, or via email.

  5. I think the earlier commenter was right about it being about intensity, rather than darkness. For example, if your colors were black and white, it would probably look fine either way, but perhaps more stunning with the white as the design color.

    Anyway, I hope your work gets better. Great quote.

Leave a Reply

