Hawaiian Lessons

So now that I am a little more rested up. I can tell you a little more about my Hawaiian Vacation.

I had such a wonderful time that I even forgot what my room looked like. 8 days in Hawaii is a wonderful thing. I went snorkeling (which is unheard of for a water phobe like myself), went to the volcano, ate at least a months worth of food, and sweat out gallons upon gallons of water in the humidity. This trip was definitely an adventure during which I learned a lot of valuable lessons.

Lesson 1: Wear Sunscreen. Okay, this may seem basic but when you are in vacation mode this can easily be forgotten, resulting in a gnarly sunburn. Poor Jill suffered with this really bad boot shaped burn for days.

hawaii_2007-115.jpg

My back was also aching and tender but it never occurred to me that I too could have a sunburn. I know I know black people can burn too, but since it has never happened to me before I had no idea what it was or what it felt like. The realization finally hit when I got home and started peeling. I have a new respect for people who have suffered the horror of a bad sunburn. People! Stay away from the sun! That is my public service announcement

Lesson 2: Wear bug repellent when in the jungle. Okay, really it was just a Hawaiian backyard but man do they breed some hungry mosquitoes. I was only out in the jungle area of a few mintues before putting on the bug spray. 26 mosquito bits later I was itching up a storm. I am very bad with anything that itches and tend to make things worse by making them into open sores. Oh well, I did get some great shots though.

img_2584.jpg

Lesson 3: Bring hard drive for picture backup. This was the hardest lesson for me to stomach because I know better. I have a very good hard drive dedicated to backing up all my picture cards while on trips. I bought it just in case my card was ever wiped or lost during a trip. I am sure you can see where I am going with this.

I was devastated to find that I had lost my 1GB card during trip with 200+ pictures on it. I still had another one, but the lost was deeply felt. I know better and had to learn this lesson the hard way. Oh well, between me and Jill we still have quite a lot of pictures to share. And we can’t forget about the memories that not even film can capture.

img_2226.jpg

Ahhh…the memories.

14 thoughts on “Hawaiian Lessons

  1. Hi there, Sorry about your sunburn! Ow! Try plain aloe vera gel, it is VERY soothing. I know, from sad experience….

    been reading for a while, but this is my first comment!

    Terri

  2. Despite the sunburn and bugbites, it sounds like a really incredible trip. Hawaii is a dream of mine, and I’ve enjoyed being there vicariously through you!

  3. Yeah, I too forgot to put protection on and found myself peeling and after a month of being back from vacation I still have the bathingsuit marks on my back. Just beautiful!!

    Glad you had fun!!

  4. Umm, yeah, you can definitely get sunburned. You have to be careful with using sunscreen and sunblock. I’m glad you had a good time. Hawaii sounds beautiful.

  5. Sunburn and mosquito bites, ooh nasty. I have very fair skin and have been badly sunburned in my life quite a few times. I seem to have the same tendancy as you with scratching too, and then you end up with horrible sores. At least you still enjoyed your holiday despite that. Pity about the photo card too, how disappointing for you.

  6. The fabric for your weekender is really cute! Where did you get it? One thing I wish about the weekender is that it fits perfectly UNDERNEATH the seat in the plane. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

