Finished Object: Butterick 4457 Shirt

img_1735_filtered-1.jpg

This was my final project for my sewing class. I have been meaning to show you all this project for some time. I finally got around to wearing it today. At first I didn’t like it, but it is much better with a cami underneath. Don’t know if that will save it from the eventual Goodwill pile though 😦

Fabric: Flat Folds from M&L
Inspiration: Butterick 4457 Shirt
New Tech: Buttonholes, tucks
Cost: Approximately $6.00
Enjoyment Factor:
6

The Good:

  • The cost of course! Since this was my first sewn shirt I wanted to make the pain of possible sewing mishaps to be minimal, hence the Flat Folds fabric from M&L
  • The collar came out really good. I say this because this posed a problem for a lot of my classmates but to uneven color length issue
  • I love my fabric covered button. I saw the idea executed at Whispering Pine and knew that my shirt needed fabric covered buttons too

img_1591.jpg

The Bad:

  • Like the skirt, I don’t really wear button down shirts.
  • “Tucks?? What are tucks??” These were my words when the teacher told me that the lines in the pattern picture were not darts, but tucks. “Eew, that’s not how I saw this shirt” were my next words. But after adding them to the shirt, they grew on me. Not enough for me to love them, but enough so that I was not severly disappointed.

img_1596.jpg

  • Buttonholes are evil. Actually it was due more to the machine mishaps I had in class which prevented me from getting a good buttonhole. When I finally did get one that worked right, I made the hole too big for the button. Have you ever ripped out buttonhole stitches?? Believe me, I was cussing in my head the whole time.
  • The pattern has lots of little details that add to the pretty basic design of the shit shirt (excuse my typo 🙂 ), including side slits

img_1595.jpg

The Ugly:

  • The sleeves bother me. The fit is good but the sleeves have a tendency to restrict my arm movement a little when I reach forward. This may be why this shirt will most likely find itself as a donation to goodwill. It is sad but true

Sewing Time: 10 hours – Not hard, but I only did it in class and had to learn all sorts of new techniques.

7 thoughts on “Finished Object: Butterick 4457 Shirt

  1. Well, I think it looks great, but of course YOU have to love it since you’re wearing it. I always admire those who can let go of their projects if they’re not 100% in love with them. I always feel obligated to wear mine or at least let it sit in my closet pretending that I’m going to wear/fix/love it at some point.

  2. That shirt looks fabulous on you! The color looks really good on your skin. The covered button are very nice touch. You’re doing well, keep it up!

    Now, for the sleeves. If they seem tight when you move your arms forward, you may need more room across the back and in the back half of the sleeve. Ask your teacher about altering your next pattern. For now, have a friend measure across your back, about midway. Do the same for the high bust (about 5″ down from where your shoulder and neck meets), and compare the two measurements. A lot of us have broad backs and need more room in this area.

  3. I love the shirt! Good job!

    (Read the quote below carefully! :P)

    “The pattern has lots of little details that add to the pretty basic design of the shit, including side slits.”

Leave a Reply

