Finished Object – McCall’s M5053 Skirt

img_1481.jpg

This is the second time I have worn my new skirt. This was my outfit to my sister’s graduation. I got quite a few compliments and was very happy when I was able to say that I made both the skirt AND the sweater. Hee hee, I am such a sucker for a compliment but too embarrassed and self conscious to fish for them. That is probably why I blog.

Fabric: Flat Folds from M&L
Inspiration: McCall’s M5053 Skirt
New Tech: This was my first time making a sewn article of clothing for a real person, so all tech was new tech
Cost: Approximately $10.00
Enjoyment Factor:
9

The Good:

  • This was my first skirt ever. It was one of the three projects I am doing for my sewing class. I think it came out pretty good construction wise
  • The fabric was extremely inexpensive since I got it from the flat folds at my favorite fabric store M&L. The flat folds are the lower quality fabric areas of the store. It does not mean bad quality, but just not the heirloom quality you use for quilting. There is an area for those fabrics and they are still less expensive than the quilt stores. If you are ever in So Cal and just want to get tons of fabric, go to M&L. It is not a pretty store, but you definitely get a HUGE selection.
  • This skirt cost me about $8 bucks in fabric, the rest was the zipper and thread
  • I put in my first zipper, which should allow me to use my zipper foot with confidence for a knitting bag I want to make
  • It matches my new Apricot Jacket!!!

img_1499.jpg

The Bad:

  • The fit on the skirt is a little big. I always second guess my body measurements, with knitting I only have the deal with the bust. With this skirt I had to measure my hips and waist for the first time. Dear God!! This is my womanly self conscious area so I normally deal with the lower body with the adage “ignorance is bliss”. Well, I made the right size but just thought it might be too big because I kinda wrapped it around my body with clothes on it class. So I opened the yoke a little more. I should have left it as it would have fit better.
  • My bottom hem is a little wonky because it was a huge curved surface with a “neat hem” meaning it was rolled twice. My teacher gave me a technique to make it easier, but even then it took forever.
  • I had to hand stitch the yoke facing. It looks good, but it took the entire viewing of “Blood Diamond” to finish it.

The Ugly:

  • Nothing on the outside, but man the inside finishing is not all that great. My zigzag stitches for the clean edges is quite a bit away from the edge, so it will fray a little with washing.

Sewing Time: 12 hours – Not hard, but I only did it in class and had to learn all sorts of new techiques.

26 thoughts on “Finished Object – McCall’s M5053 Skirt

  1. What a great outfit! The sweater and skirt go together so well…great work!

    (I’m now inspired to try to finish off my own Aprikot Jacke, if I can ever find the energy to knit with cotton again!)

  2. That’s a gorgeous outfit and you look fabulous in it! Congratulations on doing such a great job! I’m jealous because (besides the fact that I look horrible in yellow or orange) I can’t knit and I’m too chicken to try sewing clothes. I can get away with crooked lines when I make totes or quilts! 😀

  3. You did a really nice job on the skirt. I think it’s great that you were able to wear to hand-made items together.

    I’ve never heard of M&L. Is it a regional chain?

    One of these days I’ll learn to sew and quilt.

  4. What an amazing outfit you made! I love the contrast between the print and the solid on the skirt. You look absolutely gorgeous (and proud) in your ensemble.

  5. Ooh, it’s been a while since I have been by your side and I loved your new blog!

    Great job with the Apricot Jacket. I just unpacked mine and realised it’s been a while since I last worn this baby!!

  6. what a fantastic first skirt and a great match for your sweater. You look sensational in it and ought to wear skirts mnore often : )

  7. Absolutely gorgeous! I love the colors you used for the skirt- and I agree that I love getting compliments on things I’ve made, but am too embarassed to fish for them!

  8. OMG, I’m just checking out your FOs… that is the most kickass skirt!!! And it looks so good on you! I’ve tried to sew a few skirts but once made, they look horrible on me. I can tell that you know how to pick patterns/fabrics that look good on you! I could use some pointers!!!!!!!!

  9. What a stunning outfit! I found your blog searching for a finished “Doctor’s Bag” and everything you make is just beautiful, especially this skirt and cardi!

  10. Both the skirt and sweater are awesome, what an great handmade outfit! I think I’m going to make that skirt once my sewing skills are a bit more developed, I love the fit and drape of it.

  11. OMg! I love love that skirt and that print, it is adorable! Great job done! And Apricot Cardi was on my list forever, too bad not knowing when would I make it! but colors are just bright and so vibrant on you!

Leave a Reply

