FO2013 :: Aztec Tank (McCall’s 6751)

Image

So I decided to make this easy tank on the spur of the moment.  I was going to meet up with some of my sewing pals for our biweekly S.O.S (Sewing On Saturday/Sunday) gathering and I didn’t want to try to decipher Burda instructions from my cape while chit chatting, eating, drinking wine,  and oh yeah… sewing.  So about an 1.5 hours before our rendezvous time I decided to make this two piece tank top as my S.O.S. project.

The funny part is that this easy peasy top grew legs! First, I couldn’t decide on the size so I did a quick pin fitting which made me add 5/8″ to the length.  Next I picked my fabrics which was a rayon challis (love me some challis) and a chiffon remnant, both of which come from the $2.50 per lb at Michael Levine’s.  I haven’t worked with woven fabric in a long time and never with chiffon.  I took a little too much time deciding on the pattern placement and then discovered I also didn’t have the color thread nor any matching bias tape.

Peacockchic - Mccalls 6751

So with about 30 minutes to go I set about measuring and cutting the requisite bias tape using a method I saw on Pinterest for making bias tape using masking tape as a guide and googling how to piece the pieces together so as to save on fabric.

Photo Aug 11, 8 34 10 PM

Since I didn’t want to bring my serger along that meant french seams which I also have not done in years and had to do a quick recap using my singer sewing guide.  One quick stop at JoAnn’s along the way and I was finally set to sew.

Once I got started it was of course easy as can be but I just find it hilarious that this two piece, super easy pattern became more and more elaborate as I progressed.

CHANGES FOR NEXT TIME: I would maybe add a bust dart (once again complicating a simple pattern and maybe lengthen the strap area on the front piece by about a 1/4″ because if I just shift the tank back by about that much it doesn’t get caught on my shelf booty.

Peacockchic - Mccalls 6751

Pattern Description: MISSES’ TOPS: Loose-fitting, pullover tops have back neckline variations, narrow hem, and optional purchased bias tape to finish neckline and armholes. A: pocket. A and B: bias back. C and D: back longer than front. A, C and D: wrong side shows.Pattern Sizing: ZZ(Large-XLarge-XXLarge).  I cut view D in size Large
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Similar, except I used two different fabricsWere the instructions easy to follow? YesWhat did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Not really

Fabric Used: Rayon Challis and Poly Chiffon

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I used two different fabrics – Rayon Challis for the front and a chiffon for the back.  I also added 5/8″ to the bottom to lengthen the top slightly.  I ended up cut back the armhole by about a 1/4″ and made my own bias tape using the rayon challis

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will probably sew one of the other views but I can highly recommend view D.
Conclusion: Great pattern for the summer
8 thoughts on “FO2013 :: Aztec Tank (McCall’s 6751)

Leave a Reply

