Finished Object: Coline

My last hat of 2009 was Coline.  I saw it on {a black pepper} and the knit combined with her always gorgeous photography made this jump onto my list.  She has such wonderfully intricate sweater patterns that I would love to try but alas my knitting has now been relegated to things I can finish quickly (i.e. not sweaters) so I will have to settle for her rather extensive and lovely hat collection

Yarn: Queensland Llama Seta
Inspiration: Coline (Raverly Link Here)
Needles: Size 5 for the ribbing, size 6 needles for the rest
Yardage: approx. 176 yards (2 balls)
Modifications: Used Ysolda’s Cable Cast On.  Knit 1×1 ribbing using US5 instead of stockinette
Enjoyment Factor: 9

The Good:

  • Yet another stashbusting exercise.  This one was a little less of a stashbust as I had allocated this yarn for sale, but because I loved the yarn as a hat with my slouchy copycat hat I decided to steal a few balls before I put my final count of yarn up.  Good decision on my part :smile:
  • The pattern is very well written and produced a wonderful hat.  I just love how the inside of each bubble is a different pattern

The Bad:

  • I really wanted a slouchy hat and this pattern just seems a bit stiff for the “just keep knitting and it will become slouchy” pattern modification I have been doing to the hats.  Unlike the other hats I blocked this one rather hard to get the slouch and it seems to have worked out…sorta.

The Ugly:

  • I got nothin’

Sorry for the rather concise blog post on this one, but I am super tired and need to get to bed.  This going back to work after semi-retirement (a.k.a. 16 days off) is for the birds :sad:

15 thoughts on “Finished Object: Coline

  1. I came across your blog and just wanted you to know that you’re an AMAZING sewer/knitter/etc. I have the amy butler weekender bag that you made bookmarked with the name “Get this good!”.. I couldn’t help but let you know. :)

    • OH! And the ending of BSG sucked. Talk about an “I just fell down the rabbit hole” feeling…what were they thinking?? That whole last hour wasn’t even the same show. Ugh. I didn’t even buy the last dvd. My BSG ends when they land on decimated Earth I guess, haha! (At least no one disappeared in in a field!)

Leave a Reply

