Finished Object: Stripey Slouchy Glittery Beret

This little slouchy beret was totally spur of the moment.  I was combing through my yarn stash and started winding some skeins of miscellaneous yarns that just looked messy.  During my hunt I found some leftover Microspun from at least 2 or 3 years ago and a skein of Glitterspun that I obviously had no idea what to do with.  Definitely part of the “what were you thinking” era of yarn buying.  Anyhoo…I had been wanting a black hat for a while but didn’t want to purchase more yarn.  Alone they were not enough to make a hat…at least so I thought…but together I give you the Stripey Slouchy GLITTERY Beret.

Yarn: Microspun and Glitterspun in Black
Inspiration: Stripey Slouchy Beret (Raverly Link Here)
Needles: Size 5 for the ribbing, size 6 needles for the rest
Yardage: approx. 100 yards of Microspun and Glitterspun100.8 yards (little less than 1 ball of both)
Modifications: Used Ysolda’s Cable Cast On.  Used smaller needles as I have no US7 16″ circulars.  Used a 4×4 alternating stripe pattern
Enjoyment Factor: 8

The Good:


  • The ULTIMATE stash buster.  Two yarns destine to the bottom of the stash bucket find new life in simple beret pattern. Who knew?
  • I finally have a black hat…whoopee.  It has been worn quite a few times already.
  • The glittery yarn gives it a little pizazz without getting too glam.  I specially like how the center ends with the glitterspun
  • Easy pattern….it is stockinette afterall

The Bad:


  • Microspun is not a hearty yarn so I don’t know how long this hat will live.  And OMG is it splitty!
  • It is a little more limp that I might have liked but that leads back to the lack of body in the microspun.  I had to use some shirring elastic doubled to ensure that the ribbing did not lose its elasticity.  However, this is not a bad idea for most hats.
  • I still have a little more of this dang yarn.  It might find its way to the trash rather than back in the stash…gasp!

The Ugly:


  • Black is very hard to photograph…LOL!
  • I dislike stockinette stitch only a little less than garter stitch.  The monotony is almost unbearable.  Too bad it produces such utilitarian garments.  Guess I just have to suck it up :smile:
2 thoughts on “Finished Object: Stripey Slouchy Glittery Beret

Leave a Reply

