Finished Object: Jane

This is the second hat in my Mad Hatter Phase.  I absolutely fell in love with the hat when I saw it.  Not necessarily the gorgeous photography or the simplicity of the pattern but THAT HAT!! I had to have it as it was exactly. Low and behold I had a skein of Old Gold in stash.  Bingo!  My copycat Jane was born

Yarn: Patons Classic Merino Wool in Old Gold
Inspiration: Jane (Raverly Link Here)
Needles: Size 6 for the ribbing, size 8 needles for the rest
Yardage: approx. 200 yards (little less than 1 ball)
Modifications: Used smaller needles as I have no 7 or 9 16″ circulars, casted on 90 stitches to compensate
Enjoyment Factor: 10

The Good:


  • Super simple pattern that was made better with the doubled brim.  I loved it in the picture but while I was knitting it I started having reservations.  I even considered cutting it and making it a single thickness brim but once done and on my head it was love!
  • Stash Busting once again!! Hat the exact colorway in stash.  It was meant to be
  • I like sewing/knitting into my caston edge.  I think it is super fun.  Glad I got to do it here.

The Bad:


  • Who likes paying for patterns?!  However, this one is worth it.  Not necessarily because it is complicated rather I just like the entire presentation of it.  Hell, presentation is a huge part of what made Apple so successful :smile:  For that alone this pattern had me at hello (btw I hate that movie and don’t really like renee zellwegerthat much either…lol)
  • The back sticks up a bit but that might have been due to my smaller needles making a stiffer fabric plus not blocking it.  I will get to that as soon as I don’t want to have it on my head…that may be a while :grin:

The Ugly:

  • My pictures of my knitting lately.  Kinda creepy sans face…LOL!

Yet another successful hat done.  Two more to show and then on to the WIPS!

9 thoughts on “Finished Object: Jane

  1. OMG!!! I fell in love with this hat this morning. I bought the pattern and drove to Michaels and bought the Paton’s yarn (same color) and will knit this over the next few days. A little ambitious for me!! I’ll send you a picture when it is complete. Happy New Year’s!!

Leave a Reply

